Why try and teach this “old dog” a new trick?

1 May

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve NEVER been good with money.  My thought process has always been”hey I have some money in the bank, maybe I should go spend it.”  Well let’s just say that that particular frame of mind has also jumped over to credit cards as well.

Now I’ve acquired about $8,000 in credit card debt and I’m NOT liking living paycheck to paycheck.  Especially with gas prices at $3.99 here in my town in the Southwest corner of Wisconsin.  Not only do I have to pay down my credit cards I’ve got to fork over an ass ton of money to fill my gas tank.

So I’m in the process of trying to teach myself how to be more frugal.   All I know is that I don’t want to be 30 and still living with my parents.

So far these are some of the things/steps that I have taken towards becoming more frugal and at some point in the future debt free:

1. I have taken to paying more than the minimum payment on my credit cards…Even if it’s only a few dollars.

2. I’ve taken to using my public library more for books and movies.

3. I have a pretty extensive movie collection but there are movies that I don’t have and really want to see, so I’ve joined Netflix.  I’m currently on their digital streaming/1 DVD or Blueray program.

4. I’ve started shopping in thrift stores more often.  In my job my clothes get pretty beat up so I don’t see any reason to buy brand new clothes for work.  Plus, the thrift store in my town has a program that for every $10 you spend you get a punch and once you fill up your punch card you get $10 worth of “free” merchandise.  A couple of weeks ago I was in there and bought about $100 worth of clothing and a brand new set of Lands End sheets for $27.

5. I’ve been looking for all sorts of frugal and money-saving blogs on the net.  I see tons from all over the country but I’m also trying to find one or two from Wisconsin too.

6.  When I do know that I need to go shopping I make a list and when I get to the store I try very hard to stick to the list.

If anyone else has an advice/links/suggestions please feel free to leave them in the comments section.  No suggestion is a bad suggestion.

Leave a Reply

